October: Bring the Halloween On!

I can’t believe there are so many people out there that do not like Halloween. For me, it is my favorite holiday. A lot of happy childhood memories come from Halloween. Can you remember your first Halloween costume? I can’t really but most of the ones I had were little vinyl plastic numbers that instantly made your body sweat and plastic masks that had 2 small nose holes and a hole at the mouth. WHAT WERE PEOPLE THINKING? That it would be fun to suffocate children all over the nation? Well I can tell you that for three years running, I was Holly Hobbie. Later, I decided I liked the more fantasy costumes. In the October that I was 17, me and some friends went to a midnight showing of Rocky Horror Picture Show. I loved it! Me and my girls dressed up in French Maid costumes and were Magenta. 

Aside from trick or treating, I loved those great scary movies that played on the television. Remember when they actually had shows like Sammy Terry, Elvira, Tales From the Crypt, Captain USA’s Groovy Movies, and Friday Night Frights? Does anyone remember anything before the age of Reality Television, Honey Boo Boo, or Jersey Shore? Anyone? Mostly the movies that showed on Halloween were all those great classics like Night of the Living Dead, Friday the 13th, Halloween(and its many sequels), and then there were all those wonderful B movies. The B movies that you knew were just too stupid or fake but you had to watch them regardless? We all stayed up late to watch them. I mean we had to do something until the sugar crash came, right? 

Some of the first stories I began to write were horror themed ones. I can remember one that I wrote after a fight with my sister that caused quite the stir in my house. I grew up in the 80s so I had influences like Stephen King, Wes Craven, John Carpenter, and many of the great horror masters that influenced the masses today. I also had a great love of Edgar Allan Poe who could write a chilling story very simply yet stories like Tell A Tale Heart and The Pit and the Pendulum raised the hair on the back of the neck. Those were the stories I wanted to write. I wanted to take my readers through the gauntlet of horror without them even knowing it until it was too late. 

So tell me, what kind of horror story keeps you up late with the lights turned on? Do the stories of escaped mental patients with a thirst for the kill have you looking out your window into the darkness or zombies craving human flesh have you clutching a Bible? Do you fear a beautiful seductive vampire who wants to embrace you in his midnight’s kiss before he rips your throat out? Perhaps tales of men who turn into savage bloodthirsty beasts that leave their victims trying in vain to escape under the light of a full moon? Then again perhaps you’re a bit more twisted and you fear something more sinister yet less noticeable at first? Don’t worry, I got the lights on, cop a squat and let’s talk books and boogie men. Image 

One thought on “October: Bring the Halloween On!

  1. […] October: Bring the Halloween On!. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

